After completing her teacher training in Sargans, Asha Ospelt-Riederer studied translation and did a copywriting internship in Zurich. Today she works as a freelance copywriter with her company w.orte, specialises in gender-appropriate communication and teaches as a primary school teacher. She is the mother of two small children and stepmother of two teenagers. Originally from Flums in St. Gallen, she lives in Schaan and works in Sargans. Her leisure activities include reading, yoga, hiking and cross-country skiing. Asha Ospelt-Riederer is 39 years old.

Where and how did you grow up?

I grew up with my parents and two younger brothers in Flums, uneventfully, with lots of cycling and skiing. I was a very well-adjusted and ambitious child, wanted not only to do everything right at school, but also to do it beautifully.

Could you describe your professional background?

According to my parents I wanted to become a teacher after the first day of school. Even though I had a terrible tummy ache from excitement that day. After the teacher training in Sargans, I worked as a teacher at various levels. I still continue to do this part-time. I was absorbed in this profession from the beginning, but I saved up to study translation out of curiosity and the joy of learning. Already during my studies I was able to work on exciting writing assignments, as a proof reader and journalist. After graduating as a federally certified translator I did a copywriting internship in an advertising agency in Zurich. Subsequently I wrote for various magazines, agencies, newspapers and companies and at the same time acquired knowledge about gender-appropriate language. I now work as a freelance copywriter specialising in gender-appropriate communication and as a class teacher part-time with a job-sharing partner.

The so meaningful first day of school

Could you describe your professional background?

According to my parents I wanted to become a teacher after the first day of school. Even though I had a terrible tummy ache from excitement that day. After the teacher training in Sargans, I worked as a teacher at various levels. I still continue to do this part-time. I was absorbed in this profession from the beginning, but I saved up to study translation out of curiosity and the joy of learning. Already during my studies I was able to work on exciting writing assignments, as a proof reader and journalist. After graduating as a federally certified translator I did a copywriting internship in an advertising agency in Zurich. Subsequently I wrote for various magazines, agencies, newspapers and companies and at the same time acquired knowledge about gender-appropriate language. I now work as a freelance copywriter specialising in gender-appropriate communication and as a class teacher part-time with a job-sharing partner.

 

Were there certain events or stages that were formative for your career?

My family has probably shaped me the most and the circumstances in which I grew up. Modesty was important, as were diligence, decency and family. We didn’t have a car for a long time so we mostly travelled by bike or train. I had a nice, quiet childhood. It made me proud to be able to pay some of my own expenses early on, for example I earned my first great yellow mountain bike at the age of 14 in a holiday job. Ever since I can remember strident, loud women like Hella von Sinnen have fascinated me. They gave expression to something I had no words for. I read a lot on socially critical topics early on.

 

Were there certain people who were formative for your career?

Yes, there are many. To name them would go beyond the scope of this article and the list would always be unfairly incomplete. But I would definitely like to mention my grandparents. Since my childhood my admiration for them has been growing. Their openness, prudence and gratitude towards the world and each other are overwhelming. They are great role models for me in their way of being.

My grandparents, whose big-hearted objectivity was valuable from an early age.

Has your environment supported you in your career?

My environment said the right things at the right moments. It was either supportive or critical. In both cases it helped me because I had to think, find arguments and consolidate my position. I think both support and non-support are important. Because if you’ve only ever had a tailwind, maybe the first little headwind blows you over?

 

What are your current activities?

I am still a class teacher in a 6th grade class in Sargans, where I have been working for 15 years. That is my professional rock. Everything around it has changed: I became a stepmother a good 10 years ago and now have two daughters who are four and one year old. I started my own business as a copywriter specialising in gender-appropriate communication. I do all these jobs part-time.

 

Does what you are currently doing fulfil you?

Yes my life fulfils me. I get to dive into a new world every day. I can combine ideas from different areas, professional and private, and let them cross-fertilise each other. This holistic approach means quality of life for me. Sometimes I think that part-time work is taken less seriously than full-time work. For me the opposite is true: I carry out my assignments and activities responsibly, purposefully and with a lot of dedication. As a result I have become a more efficient and thoughtful copywriter, teacher and mother.

 

What or who inspires you in everyday life?

People. There are so many people who stand up for their convictions, big and small, I admire them. My wonderful children and stepchildren, who make it possible to experience the whole spectrum between the highest heights of emotion and my limits. My husband, who sees many things from a different angle, which makes discussions exciting. My wonderful girlfriends who are so smart, thoughtful, honest. My family of origin, who not only preach cohesion, but also live it. And numerous lateral thinkers and writers who share their world-changing ideas and beautiful words with us.

 

There are ‘magic moments’ when everything seems to fit. Moments that fulfil, inspire and give strength. Moments that confirm that the effort is worthwhile and that what you do is meaningful and valuable. Have you already experienced such moments in relation to your own activities?

In relation to my profession, there was a magical moment during my translation studies. We were given the homework to translate a text from English ‘a little more freely than usual’. I drew on all my resources and rewrote everything. During the discussion the lecturer took my text apart in front of all my fellow students as a particularly cautionary tale. But I wasn’t embarrassed, on the contrary, I jumped for joy inside because from that moment on I knew: I want to write freely! When I can literally put myself in the shoes of the person I’m talking to in an interview and afterwards they find themselves in my words – that’s also magical. A magical moment at school a few years ago was when a student asked for the first time: ‘Should we work with our bench neighbours?’ after I had started speaking in the double form a few weeks earlier without explanation. There I had the proof: it is not even too awkward for children to consider girls and boys equally in terms of language! And then all the small, magical moments: a laugh, a sentence that resonates for years, the tears that come up when I write someone a personal letter. There would be so many magical moments every day if we were completely with ourselves and with what we are doing.

Do you actively do something for it, so that such ‘magic moments’ can happen?

I try to sleep enough to be awake for the magical moments. I try to meditate for at least ten minutes a day to give the head a break and the soul space. Against my nature, I always try to remind myself that you can also do things slowly.

 

In retrospect, can you find something positive in difficult moments?

I am a great believer in crises. Not that I like being in crises: they are exhausting, gruelling, sad. I’ve been through a few crises, even at a young age, and looking back I have to say to each one: thank you for coming. Difficult moments force us to look closely, to question, to reassess. And if you face them, you can also come out of them stronger.

 

Is there anything you would do differently in retrospect?

I would like to have seen through certain mechanisms of society earlier and bend less to please, as I sometimes did as a young woman. I would generally like to have understood earlier that we need to empower women and people from groups that are less visibly represented in public in order to strengthen society as a whole.

Working barefoot is particularly good.

Do you want to contribute to society with your activities?

It would be nice if I could begin to make my children, pupils and students feel that they and their contribution to a fairer world are enormously important. I would like to use my writing to help shift the image of women and men in society away from clichés and stereotypes towards more freedom for all. Language is a small part of reality. But communication and learning take place largely through language – so it’s more than worth a try.

Is the recognition of other people or the public important to you?

As a child and young person, the judgement of my teachers and parents, and subsequently of my entire environment, was enormously important to me. In the meantime, I have learned to no longer make my convictions and actions dependent on a fictitious judgement from outside, but to listen to my own gut and mind and to my heart. I am still practising.

Is there something that is particularly occupying you at the moment?

At the moment, I am preoccupied with change on many levels. We are living in an incredibly dramatic and also exciting period. Never before in human history have the masses known more about what is happening in other parts of the world than now. So much has happened in a short space of time, from #MeToo to forest fires in many parts of the world, war disasters and inhumane treatment of people on the run, Covid 19 lockdown and Black Lives Matter protests. I feel we can turn the tide towards global thinking based on compassion, the awareness that we can only move forward together as humanity.

 

What are you most grateful for in life?

I am grateful to have been born here, in this incredibly privileged part of the world, not to say the most privileged. This also gives rise to a responsibility. Those who have been richly gifted by fate should also give a lot: Time, energy, ideas, understanding, love or whatever makes the world a better place. Finding my place in this will probably occupy me for some time to come.

Interview
Laura Hilti, October 2020


Illustrations

Stefani Andersen


Links

www.w-orte.li


Credits

Portrait photo/ Working barefoot: Philipp Beeler (mitwind.ch)
All other pictures: private

This interview is part of the project ‘Magic Moments’ by Kunstverein Schichtwechsel, in which people are interviewed about their careers, activities and their magical as well as difficult moments.

Curated by Stefani Andersen and Laura Hilti, Kunstverein Schichtwechsel.

Supported by Kulturstiftung Liechtenstein and Stiftung Fürstl. Kommerzienrat Guido Feger.

>>> All interviews

Asha Ospelt-Riederer hat nach dem Lehrer*innenseminar in Sargans ein Übersetzer*innenstudium und Textpraktikum in Zürich absolviert. Heute ist sie mit ihrer Firma w.orte als selbstständige Texterin tätig, spezialisiert auf gendergerechte Kommunikation und unterrichtet als Primarschullehrerin. Sie ist Mutter von zwei Kleinkindern und Stiefmutter von zwei Teenagern. Aus Flums in St. Gallen stammend, lebt sie in Schaan und arbeitet in Sargans. Zu ihren Freizeitbeschäftigungen zählen Lesen, Yoga, Wandern und Langlaufen. Asha Ospelt-Riederer ist 39 Jahre alt.

Wo und wie sind Sie aufgewachsen?

Ich bin mit meinen Eltern und zwei jüngeren Brüdern in Flums aufgewachsen, unaufgeregt, mit viel Velo- und Skifahren. Ich war ein sehr angepasstes und ehrgeiziges Kind, wollte in der Schule nicht nur alles richtig, sondern auch noch schön machen.

Könnten Sie Ihren Werdegang schildern?

Laut meinen Eltern wollte ich bereits nach dem ersten Schultag Lehrerin werden. Und das, obwohl ich an diesem Tag furchtbare Bauchschmerzen vor Aufregung hatte. Nach dem Lehrer*innenseminar in Sargans arbeitete als Lehrerin auf verschiedenen Stufen. Das tue ich in Teilzeit ohne Unterbruch bis heute. Ich ging von Anfang an auf in diesem Beruf, sparte aber trotzdem auf ein Übersetzer*innenstudium, aus Neugier und Freude am Lernen. Bereits während des Studiums durfte ich spannende Schreibaufträge bearbeiten, als Korrektorin und Journalistin, und machte nach dem Abschluss zur eidgenössisch diplomierten Übersetzerin ein Textpraktikum in einer Werbeagentur in Zürich. Danach habe ich für verschiedene Magazine, Agenturen, Zeitungen und Unternehmen geschrieben und mir gleichzeitig Wissen zu gendergerechter Sprache angeeignet. Inzwischen arbeite ich als selbstständige Texterin mit Fachgebiet gendergerechte Kommunikation und als Klassenlehrerin in Teilzeit mit einer Jobsharing-Partnerin.

Der so bedeutungsvolle erste Schultag

Gab es bestimmte Ereignisse oder Stationen, die für Ihren Werdegang prägend waren?

Am meisten hat mich wohl meine Familie geprägt und die Umstände, in denen ich aufgewachsen bin. Bescheidenheit war wichtig und Fleiss, Anstand und die Familie. Wir hatten lange kein Auto, weshalb wir meist mit dem Velo oder Zug unterwegs waren. Ich hatte eine schöne, ruhige Kindheit. Es hat mich stolz gemacht, früh einen Teil meiner Ausgaben selber bestreiten zu können, zum Beispiel habe ich mir mein erstes tolles, gelbes Mountainbike mit 14 Jahren in einem Ferienjob erarbeitet. Seit ich denken kann, haben mich schrille, laute Frauen wie Hella von Sinnen fasziniert. Sie gaben etwas einen Ausdruck, für das ich keine Worte hatte. Ich habe früh viel zu gesellschaftskritischen Themen gelesen.

 

Gab es bestimmte Personen, die für Ihren Werdegang prägend waren?

Ja, da gibt es viele. Sie zu nennen, würde den Rahmen sprengen und die Aufzählung wäre auch immer unfair unvollständig. Aber wen ich unbedingt erwähnen möchte, sind meine Grosseltern. Seit meiner Kindheit baut sich meine Bewunderung für sie auf: Ihre Offenheit, Besonnenheit und Dankbarkeit der Welt und einander gegenüber sind überwältigend. Sie sind grosse Vorbilder in ihrem Sein für mich.

 

Hat Sie Ihr Umfeld in Ihrem Werdegang unterstützt?

Mein Umfeld hat in den richtigen Momenten das Richtige gesagt. Entweder war das unterstützend oder kritisch. In beiden Fällen hat es mir weitergeholfen, weil ich nachdenken, Argumente finden und meine Position festigen musste. Ich finde, sowohl Unterstützung als auch Nicht-Unterstützung sind wichtig. Denn wenn du immer nur Rückenwind hattest, bläst dich der erste kleine Gegenwind vielleicht um?

Die Grosseltern, deren grossherzige Objektivität schon früh wertvoll war.

Welchen Tätigkeiten gehen Sie derzeit nach?

Ich bin immer noch Klassenlehrerin in einer 6. Klasse in Sargans, wo ich seit 15 Jahren arbeite. Das ist mein beruflicher Fels in der Brandung. Darum herum hat sich alles verändert: Ich bin vor gut 10 Jahren Stiefmutter geworden und habe inzwischen zwei Töchter, die vier und ein Jahr alt sind. Ich habe mich als Texterin selbstständig gemacht und auf gendergerechte Kommunikation spezialisiert. Alle Berufe übe ich in Teilzeit aus.

 

Erfüllt Sie das, was Sie derzeit machen?

Ja, mein Leben erfüllt mich. Ich darf jeden zweiten Tag in eine neue Welt eintauchen. Ich kann Ideen aus verschiedenen Bereichen, beruflich und privat, miteinander verbinden, sich gegenseitig befruchten lassen. Diese Ganzheitlichkeit ist für mich Lebensqualität. Mich dünkt es manchmal, Teilzeitarbeit werde weniger ernst genommen als wenn man etwas in Vollzeit macht. Für mich gilt das Gegenteil: Meine Aufträge und Tätigkeiten übe ich verantwortungsvoll, zielgerichtet und mit viel Hingabe aus. Ich bin dadurch eine effizientere und umsichtigere Texterin, Lehrerin und Mutter geworden.

 

Was oder wer inspiriert Sie im Alltag?

Menschen. Es gibt so viele Menschen, die für ihre Überzeugungen einstehen, im Grossen und im Kleinen, ich bewundere sie. Meine wunderbaren Kinder und Stiefkinder, die das ganze Spektrum zwischen den höchsten Gefühlshöhen und meinen Grenzen erlebbar machen. Mein Mann, der vieles aus einem anderen Blickwinkel betrachtet, was Diskussionen spannend macht. Meine wunderbaren Freundinnen, die so klug, umsichtig, ehrlich sind. Meine Herkunftsfamilie, die Zusammenhalt nicht nur predigt, sondern auch lebt. Und zahlreiche Querdenkende und Schriftsteller*innen, die ihre weltbewegenden Ideen und schönen Worte mit uns teilen.

 

Es gibt «magische Momente», in denen alles zu passen scheint. Momente, die erfüllen, inspirieren und Kraft geben. Momente, die bestätigen, dass sich der Einsatz lohnt und dass das, was man macht, sinnhaft und wertvoll ist. Haben Sie solche Momente in Bezug auf Ihre eigenen Tätigkeiten schon erlebt?

In Bezug auf meine Berufe: Magisch war ein Moment während meines Übersetzer*innenstudiums. Wir bekamen die Hausaufgabe, einen Text aus dem Englischen „etwas freier als üblich“ zu übersetzen. Ich habe aus dem Vollen geschöpft und alles umgeschrieben. Bei der Besprechung nahm der Dozent meinen Text vor allen Mitstudierenden als besonders abschreckendes Beispiel auseinander. Aber es war mir nicht peinlich, ich habe im Gegenteil innerlich Freudensprünge gemacht, denn von diesem Moment an wusste ich: Ich will frei schreiben! Wenn ich mich in mein Gegenüber in einem Interview förmlich hineinversetzen kann und es sich danach in meinen Worten wiederfindet – das ist auch magisch. Ein magischer Moment in der Schule vor ein paar Jahren war, als ein Schüler zum ersten Mal fragte: «Sollen wir mit unseren Banknachbarn und Banknachbarinnen arbeiten?», nachdem ich einige Wochen zuvor ohne Erklärung damit begonnen hatte, in der Doppelform zu sprechen. Da hatte ich den Beweis: Nicht einmal für Kinder ist es zu umständlich, Mädchen und Jungen sprachlich gleichsam zu berücksichtigen! Und dann all die kleinen, zauberhaften Momente: ein Lachen, ein Satz, der jahrelang nachklingt, die Tränen, die hochkommen, wenn ich jemandem einen persönlichen Brief schreibe. So viele magische Momente gäbe es täglich, wenn wir ganz bei uns und dem sind, was wir tun.

Tun Sie aktiv etwas dafür, damit sich solche magischen Momente einstellen können?

Ich versuche genug zu schlafen, um dann wach zu sein für die magischen Momente. Ich versuche täglich mindestens zehn Minuten zu meditieren, um dem Kopf eine Pause und der Seele Raum zu geben. Ich versuche mich entgegen meinem Naturell immer wieder daran zu erinnern, dass man Dinge auch langsam machen kann.

 

Können Sie schwierigen Momenten rückblickend etwas Positives abgewinnen?

Ich bin eine grosse Sympathisantin von Krisen. Nicht, dass ich gerne in Krisen stecke: Sie sind anstrengend, aufreibend, traurig. Ich habe einige Krisen durchgemacht, schon in jungen Jahren, und rückblickend muss ich zu jeder einzelnen sagen: Danke, dass du gekommen bist. Schwierige Momente zwingen uns, genau hinzuschauen, zu hinterfragen, neu zu beurteilen. Und wenn man sich ihnen stellt, kann man auch gestärkt aus ihnen herausgehen.

 

Gibt es etwas, was Sie rückblickend anders machen würden?

Ich würde gerne gewisse Mechanismen der Gesellschaft früher durchschaut haben wollen und mich weniger verbiegen um zu gefallen, wie ich das als junge Frau manchmal gemacht habe. Ich würde generell gerne früher verstanden haben wollen, dass wir Frauen und Menschen aus Gruppen, die weniger sichtbar vertreten sind in der Öffentlichkeit, stärken müssen, um die Gesellschaft insgesamt zu stärken.

Barfuss arbeitet es sich besonders gut.

Möchten Sie mit Ihren Tätigkeiten etwas zur Gesellschaft beitragen?

Es wäre schön, wenn ich es ansatzweise schaffe, meinen Kindern, Schülerinnen und Schülern das Gefühl zu vermitteln, dass sie und ihr Beitrag zu einer faireren Welt enorm wichtig sind. Ich würde gerne mit meiner Schreibarbeit mithelfen, das Bild von Frauen und Männern in der Gesellschaft weg von Klischees und Stereotypen hin zu mehr Freiheit für alle zu verschieben. Sprache ist zwar ein kleiner Teil der Realität. Aber Kommunikation und Lernen finden grösstenteils über Sprache statt – also ist das mehr als einen Versuch wert.

Ist Ihnen die Anerkennung von anderen Personen bzw. von der Öffentlichkeit wichtig?

Mir war als Kind und junger Mensch das Urteil meiner Lehrerinnen und Lehrer und meiner Eltern und in der Folge meines gesamten Umfelds enorm wichtig. In der Zwischenzeit habe ich gelernt, meine Überzeugungen und Handlungen nicht mehr von einem fiktiven Urteil von aussen abhängig zu machen, sondern auf meinen eigenen Bauch und Verstand und auf mein Herz zu hören. Ich übe immer noch.

Gibt es etwas, das Sie derzeit besonders beschäftigt?

Mich beschäftigt im Moment die Veränderung auf vielen Ebenen. Wir leben in einer unglaublich dramatischen und auch spannenden Periode. Nie zuvor in der Geschichte der Menschheit wusste die Masse mehr darüber, was in anderen Teilen der Welt passiert als jetzt. So viel ist passiert innerhalb kurzer Zeit, von #MeToo über Waldbrände in vielen Teilen der Welt, Kriegsdesastern und unmenschlicher Behandlung von Menschen auf der Flucht, Covid-19-Lockdown und Black-Lives-Matter-Proteste. Ich habe das Gefühl, wir können das Ruder herumreissen, hin zu einem globalen Denken, das auf Mitgefühl basiert, dem Bewusstsein, dass wir nur gemeinsam weiterkommen als Menschheit.

 

Wofür sind Sie im Leben besonders dankbar?

Ich bin dankbar dafür, hier geboren worden zu sein, in diesem unglaublich privilegierten Teil der Erde, um nicht sogar zu sagen: dem privilegiertesten. Daraus ergibt sich auch eine Verantwortung. Wer vom Schicksal reich beschenkt wurde, sollte auch viel geben: Zeit, Energie, Ideen, Verständnis, Liebe oder was auch immer die Welt besser macht. Darin meinen Platz zu finden, wird mich wohl noch länger beschäftigen.

Interview
Laura Hilti, Oktober 2020


Illustrationen

Stefani Andersen


Links

www.w-orte.li


Credits

Portraitfoto/ Barfuss: Philipp Beeler (mitwind.ch)
Alle anderen Fotos: privat

Dieses Interview ist Teil des Projekts «Magic Moments» des Kunstvereins Schichtwechsel, in dessen Rahmen Menschen zu ihrem Werdegang, ihren Tätigkeiten sowie magischen und schwierigen Momenten befragt werden.

Kuratiert von Stefani Andersen und Laura Hilti, Kunstverein Schichtwechsel.

Gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung Liechtenstein und die Stiftung Fürstl. Kommerzienrat Guido Feger.

 

>>> Alle Interviews