“Experimental systems are extremely tricky installations. They need to be viewed as cultures for emergence, as structures devised by scientists in order to capture what is not otherwise devisable. They are like spider webs. It must be possible for something to become entangled in them, but what that will be or when it will happen remains a mystery until it actually happens. They are precautionary measures, devised to enable the production of unforeseeable occurrences.”

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger

The art association Kunstverein Schichtwechsel organizes projects at different locations and invites artists and persons from other areas and disciplines to collaborate. New locations, changing event formats and different constellations of people serve as a source of inspiration. With its projects, Kunstverein Schichtwechsel offers a space for experimentation and the development of new art pieces. The projects are closely tied to the learning activities and also comprise new the development of new self-released publications.

Besides organising guided tours, workshops, talks and discussion rounds, the focus of the learning activities lies in facilitating dialogue and cooperation between people from different social backgrounds. They aim to create different points of contact, which in turn are meant to create a space for talks. Kunstverein Schichtwechsel is also eager to build a network, promote collaboration and to make people question their own views and approaches by subjecting them to those of others.

As part of its publishing activities, Kunstverein Schichtwechsel  releases publications on artwork, interviews and texts on current topics in art and society. Published work is usually based on the themes of an exhibition or the exhibited artwork. The focus of the publication series POSITIONEN & DISKURSE lies in connecting and juxtaposing artistic work with interesting texts.

A small selection of our research and information on exhibition visitation is presented here on the website. This is meant to provide a glimpse of the topics the Schichtwechsel team is currently engaged with.

 

Board: Patricia Bachmann, Laura Hilti, Cornelia Wolf

 

Former board members since 2011: Luis Hilti, Annett Höland, Sandro Nardi, Martin Ott, Stefanie Thöny, Flurina Seger

 

 

Leave a Reply

«Experimentalsysteme sind also äusserst trickreiche Anlagen; man muss sie als Orte der Emergenz ansehen, als Strukturen, die wir uns ausgedacht haben, um Nicht-Ausdenkbares einzufangen. Sie sind wie Spinnennetze. Es muss sich in ihnen etwas verfangen können, von dem man nicht genau weiss, was es ist, und auch nicht genau, wann es kommt. Es sind Vorkehrungen zur Erzeugung von unvorwegnehmbaren Ereignissen.»

Hans-Jörg Rheinberger

 

Der Kunstverein Schichtwechsel konzipiert Projekte an wechselnden Orten und lädt Kunstschaffende und Personen aus anderen Bereichen und Disziplinen zur Zusammenarbeit ein. Als Inspirationsquellen dienen neue Orte sowie wechselnde Veranstaltungsformate und Personenkonstellationen. Mit seinen Projekten bietet der Kunstverein Schichtwechsel einen Raum für Experimente an und fördert die Erarbeitung von neuen Werken. Die Projekte sind jeweils eng mit den Vermittlungsaktivitäten verknüpft und beinhalten die Konzeption neuer Publikationen, die im Eigenverlag veröffentlicht werden.

Neben Führungen, Workshops, Vorträgen und Diskussionsrunden liegt der Fokus der Vermittlung auf dem Dialog und der Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen aus verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen. Die Vermittlungstätigkeiten haben zum Ziel, auf verschiedenen Ebenen Anknüpfungspunkte anzubieten und dadurch Raum für Gespräche zu schaffen. Der Kunstverein Schichtwechsel ist ausserdem bestrebt, ein Netzwerk aufzubauen, Kollaborationen zu fördern und durch die Perspektiven von Aussenstehenden die eigenen Ansichten und Vorgehensweisen zu hinterfragen.

Im Eigenverlag werden Werkdokumentationen, Interviews und weitere Texte zu aktuellen Themen in Kunst und Gesellschaft veröffentlicht. Die Publikationen werden in der Regel auf Basis der Ausstellungsthemen oder der ausgestellten Kunstwerke erarbeitet. Der Fokus der Publikationsreihe POSITIONEN & DISKURSE liegt auf der Verknüpfung und Gegenüberstellung von künstlerischen Arbeiten mit interessanten Texten.

Eine kleine Auswahl der Recherchen und Ausstellungsbesuche wird hier auf der Website vorgestellt. Damit soll ein Einblick in die Themen gewährt werden, mit denen sich das Schichtwechsel-Team aktuell beschäftigt.

 

Vorstand: Patricia Bachmann, Laura Hilti, Cornelia Wolf

 

Ehemalige Vorstandsmitglieder und Projektmitarbeiter/innen seit 2011: Luis Hilti, Annett Höland, Sandro Nardi, Martin Ott, Stefanie Thöny, Flurina Seger

 

Hinterlasse eine Antwort